Minimalism Update

I went through the audio book “The life changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo and did some purging. In this book she advocates a tidying method which is basically to look at each & every item you have and ask yourself if this item sparks joy. If and only if it does you keep it, else give it up.

Of  course the book is quite detailed than that. I’d highly recommend it to anybody struggling with too much stuff and it’s management. I was able to let go of so much stuff! I chose to donate it all to Goonj (A Delhi based NGO).

purging

Also got rid of most of the plastic containers I was using in kitchen. I just have some expensive tupperware left which I don’t yet have the heart to part with. Of course, won’t ever buy any more plastic containers!

Ms Kondo actually recommends doing all the tidying up at one go. I don’t have that kind of time with me right now, so I am doing one thing at a time. Here’s how my closet looks after the first round of purging:

closet

Looks much lighter than before and I’m so happy for it! Still, there are a lot more clothes than I’ll ideally want to have. Will get there eventually, I guess.

 

Leave a Reply

